Please visit and support our valued sponsors!
Our Valued Sponsors
in the GROOMERS LOUNGE the Groomers Directory
and the Grooming Schools Directory

Non sponsor links and/or advertising is prohibited

Lion Clip Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Groomers BBS » Breed Styles and Grooming Techniques » OTHER CLIPS / NON STANDARD STYLES » Lion Clip « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Griffylover (bubba-rt-371.icss.net - 208.230.238.71)
Posted on Saturday, May 6, 2000 - 5:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I have a customer coming in next week with a pom, She wants a Lion clip. I have never done this before. Can anyone help me ?

Rev
Posted on Saturday, May 6, 2000 - 6:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

There are several "lion cut" styles. The one I usually do starts the body clipdown just in front of the withers and follows the shoulder line down to just below the breastbone to a kind of blunt or rounded point there. I clip short to hocks and elbows, and scissor short from there down. Then I scissor the ruff to neaten, or to as short as the owner wants. For a pom I also round the tips of the ears.. cut straight across the top at the level of the tip of the ear leather, then round slightly. Trim the tail to a neat small brush, and that's it, or you could make a lion tail but I think poms look better with brushes. Some lion cuts start behind the withers and elbows and the forelegs are blended into the ruff, more like a real lion, but this trim doesn't give all the benefits a lot of owners want, like absolute minimum brushing.

bluebonbon (pool0714.cvx6-bradley.dialup.earthlink.net - 209.178.160.204)